Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu, India

Governance and Leadership

Organisation and Leadership

For governance, the University has the following statutory authorities: the Syndicate, the Senate, the Finance Committee, the Standing Committee for Academic affairs (SCAA), the Faculties, the Boards of Studies, and the Planning Board. The Vice-Chancellor is the Ex-officio Chairman of the above statutory bodies. In addition to the above statutory authorities, there are several non-statutory bodies and committees. Like other state universities, the in-house officers of the university are the Vice-Chancellor, the Registrar, the Finance Officer and the Controller of Examinations. The Organizational structure of the university is slightly different from the older Universities in the state such as University of Madras and Madurai-Kamaraj University. The organizational structure as envisaged under Bharathidasan University Act aims at, inter-alia, depoliticisation of the Campus, as a result of lesser or minimal electoral components and providing scope for serious deliberations among the members of the authorities with smaller and manageable in size and composition.

Organisation Structure


Another salient feature of the University management is that, there is a practice of constituting several sub-committees and other non-statutory bodies to discuss the issues and their complexities in depth and recommend decisions to the relevant authorities. This enables a de facto decentralization, involving wider participation of the faculty and others in decision making. Thus, the University has the practice of delegation of powers from authorities to their sub-committees and from higher officers to next level officers. Right from the inception, this healthy practice is in vogue and the delegation of powers is well defined. Such delegation of powers leads to not only a sense of involvement but also a speedy and efficient administration. This has helped to evolve a well managed Hostel Administration.

Organisation of Faculty

The structure and organization of the faculties ((i) Arts, (ii) Science, Engineering and Technology, (iii) Languages and (iv) Management) are designed as follows for efficient functioning. Each faculty which is headed by a Dean consists of several schools which is headed by a Chair and each School has different Departments with a Head and Specialized Research Centres with a Coordinator / Director. Altogether, the University has four faculties, sixteen schools and thirty three Departments and eleven specialized Research Centres.

Infrastructure Development

The University's management deserves to be commended for strengthening the resource base. In the first ten years, the university was almost in deep red, finding extremely difficult to make both ends meet. But it turned the corner, thanks to imaginative strategies/methods of resource generation through various development fees collected from students of the affiliated colleges and by starting self financing programmes in emerging areas in the university departments, substantial hike in affiliation fees and revision in several other fees. The diversification of the Distance Education mode of the University to different study programmes on emerging fields at the UG and PG levels and broad basing the same by opening new centres in different parts of the country and in abroad. Over the years, the UGC and other scientific agencies such as DST, DBT, etc. have supported significantly for the infrastructure development of the University through their various programmes including UGC – Non-SAP, UGC-SAP and DST-FIST programmes. The most important contribution to the resource is the research grant support offered by various scientific agencies in India and abroad for performing high quality research by the faculty members of the University. The amount of this grant runs to several crores of rupees each year. Today, the University has a comfortable amount of corpus for embarking upon newer development programmes with a futuristic vision.

Human Resources

Teaching Staff Female Male Total
Permanent Teachers (Regular) (Total) 72 123 195
No. of teachers with Ph.D. as the highest qualification 69 121 190
No. of teachers with M.Phil. as the highest qualification 02 03 05
Temporary Guest Lecturers (Total) 24 80 104

Non-Teaching Staff Female Male Total
Administrative Staff 119 158 277
Supporting Staff 55 189 244
Total 174 347 521

Welfare Schemes

The University operates several welfare schemes for the staff and faculty as well as for the students and some of them are unique. The university offers fee concession to the wards of the staff (for class-IV staff, the concession is full), and also to the staff themselves if they do programmes in the university's distance education mode. Also, group insurance for the students and mediclaim and an accident insurance benefits for the students and faculty are provided. Vehicle advance and subsidy on home loans are provided to staff.

Training Programmes

Training programmes for the staff have been periodically undertaken. Younger teaching faculty regularly participate in Orientation Programmes and Refresher Courses. The university's administration is computerised to the extent possible. This has made the Examinations Office to function efficiently and the results are published very quickly without delay. Automation of the university's Central Library is a boon to students. The Informatics Centre of the University with more than one thousand computers with internet connectivity is a landmark towards globalizing the study and research programmes in the computer.

Internal Quality Assurance Cell

The quality of teaching and research in the university is monitored by university's Internal Quality Assurance Cell. The Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) arranged for the evaluation of the academic and administrative activities in the campus by appointing Academic and Administrative Audit Committees. The committees were appointed at regular intervals. During the last six years period, two such committees consisting of well known educationalists, Academicians and Scientists were appointed for this purpose. The first such committee, which was headed by Prof. M. Ananthakirhsnan, the former Vice-Chancellor of Anna University, Chennai along with the members Prof. G. Pankajam, (Former Vice-Chancellor, Gandhigram Rural Institute), Prof. O.V. Oomen, (Dean, Faculty of Science, University of Kerala), and Prof. D. Shrijay Devaraj Urs (Director- Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation Board and Dean, Faculty of Arts, University of Mysore) visited the campus during the period 28-30, April 2005 and carried out the evaluation. The second committee was headed by Prof. S. Sathik, former Vice-Chancellor of University of Madras along with the members Prof, O.V. Oomen (Professor and Head, University of Kerala), Prof. C. Srinivasan, (Professor Emeritus, Madurai Kamaraj University) and Prof. K.V. Krishnamurthy, Former Head, Department of Plant Science, Bharathidasan University, Bangalore) carried out evaluation during the period 13-14, October 2008. The committees submitted reports based on their observations and findings and passed on their suggestions and recommendations. Based on their suggestions and recommendations appropriate actions were taken.

The cell is functioning in a spacious office with all infrastructure facilities and a secretarial staff at the administrative building.

Go to top