National Facility for Marine Cyanobacteria (NFMC) and Bioinformatics Centre
Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli - 620 024
Tamil Nadu, India

About the Centre

National Facility for Marine Cyanobacteria (NFMC) was found by Dr. G. Subramanian, Former Director in the year of 1991. It was sponsored by Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India, New Delhi. Since 2015 the facility has been upgraded to National Repository for Marine Microalgae and Cyanobacteria by the Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India. The germplasm houses 1000 microalgae and cyanobacterial strains representing mesophilic, thermophilic, psychrophilic, and hypersaline Indian isolates including Hong Kong and Arctic and Antarctic regions. It is one of the seven centers in the World that holds Arctic and Antarctic psychrophilic strains. The following three projects are currently running: National Repository for Microalgae and Cyanobacteria (Freshwater and Marine) & Mission Innovation #(5) project on “Outdoor mass cultivation…solar conversion efficiencies”. The facility has completed 13 projects funded by DBT, DST, DAE, DOD, UGC GOI funding agencies with a total outlay of 1358.078. Functions and duties of these projects are: Bioenergy conversion and feedstock production, Bioinformatics, Bioremediation, Biodiesel production, Hydrogen photo production, mass cultivation of cyanobacteria etc.,

As this is a National facility it is open for all during all the working days and working hours, a library is maintained hosting many subjects of Life Sciences, especially, Microbiology, Cyanobacteria, Marine Biotechnology and Bioinformatics.
An exclusive data base has been constructed by the Bioinformatics centre of NFMC and a separate website is being maintained.


Director, NFMC

Dr. G. Muralitharan
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology
Bharathidasan University,Tiruchirappalli
Phone (India) : +91 431 2407084

© 2024 Content Owned by National Facility for Marine Cyanobacteria (NFMC) and Bioinformatics Centre, Bharathidasan University, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli and Website Powered by University Informatics Centre, Bharathidasan University
Last Updated On : 18.11.2022