School of Life Sciences

Department of Botany

Sponsored by DST-FIST, UGC-Non SAP, UGC-Innovative Program and UGC-SAP

The Department of Botany of Bharathidasan University was established right from the inception of the Bharathidasan University in the year 1982. It was created from the erstwhile Department of Botany of the University of Madras. Dr. K. Periyasamy Headed this Department at the time of formation and succeeded by Dr.G.R.Rao. Then the Department was headed by Dr.K.V. Krishnamurthy in the year 1996 and succedded by Dr.N. Jayabalan in the year 2006. Dr. M.V. Rao and Dr. M.B. Viswanathan headed the department for three years each. Currently Dr. B.D. Ranjitha Kumari is the Head of the Department Since 2017.

This Department is very much proud enough to mentioned that the Five Years Integrated course was started during 1984 with M.Sc. in Botany, a novel pattern of Degree course which comprised both the Under Graduate and Post Graduate level of studies with the exposured to all field of Sciences.

The Department has published more than 2000 Research Publications since its inception and has operated Research Projects to the tune of nearly 3 Crores. The Research expertise is mainly focused on the Conservation of Flora of the Country by employing various latest and advanced techniques of Plant Biotechnology. Presently the Department is running a M.Sc. course in Botany, M.Phil. Programme in Botany and Ph.D. course in the field of Botany / Plant Biotechnology.

'புதியதோர் உலகம் செய்வோம்'
We will create a brave new world